Sakaling Maging Tayo (2019)

Sakaling Maging Tayo

A friend told me that there is a new interesting movie by JP Habac, Sakaling Maging Tayo, the director of I’m Drunk, I love you, for which we both love.

Sakaling Maging Tayo is organic, but sparks a lovely breath of juvenile attraction. Adults may find it awkward, shallow, and reckless, but that is precisely what young love is.

I did not have definite plans of watching the movie because I do not know anything about the lead actors. It shows much of my ignorance for local artists and shows.

The chance to watch the movie to fulfil a default duty as a volunteer movie assessor came this week. I obliged with no expectations. I only hoped that the kryptonite that most local movies succumb, that is, plot development, can take off like Kita Kita, Sakaling Hindi Makarating, etc. Most indie films have been able to develop their plot beautifully as compared with mainstream in recent years.

There is not much hype on Sakaling Maging Tayo as far as my social media feed is concerned. It must be too teenybopper that my peers are not interested. Maybe. But while the movie does not astound and I do not think it is intended to be so, it gives us a glimpse at the heart of today’s youth. It is carefree, fun, and pleasant but also hounded by the struggles of young love and the expectations of life that adults may ignore and perceive as frivolous.

For me, the plot was able to take flight. Feel good, creative, and down to earth.
Nice one, Habac. Take a bow.

_

© rooks 2019

Leave a comment