Inception (2010)

Inception

Inception (2010) is a science fiction and action film with a carefully written script and an incredibly unique plot. It has an impressive technical high worthy of an Academy Award.

The best way to describe the film from the perspective of its inception to its numerous citations are from the words of Dom Cobb (Leonardo DiCaprio) in the earlier part of the film which I believe is also a personal experience of the writer-director (Christopher Nolan) himself – Once an idea has taken hold of the brain, it’s almost impossible to eradicate. An idea that is fully formed, fully understood, that sticks.

Thus, when we are not conscientious or critical on how to form our conscience, our subconscious gradually transforms a seemingly innocuous but disturbing belief to become a dreadful conviction and lifestyle. That is because our subconscious usually drives our unguarded moments. These are the moments when we may mistakenly say, I was or am myself. Therefore, I am free.

In the film, it was best presented on the idea of orchestrating an inception on the mind of Robert Fischer (Cillian Murphy) through the approval that mattered most to him, his father’s (Pete Postlethwaite) – to change the subconscious (I was disappointed…that you tried. – Maurice Fischer) to eventually dictate consciousness (The will means that my dad wanted me to be my own man, not just to live for him. That’s what I’m going to do, Uncle Peter. – Robert Fischer).

The film may be a science fiction but it gives us the question not everyone may like especially in this era where the culture of death is freely basking our subconscious – How is your conscience? Is it properly formed?

(4.5, 1/5)

_

© rooks 2011

Leave a comment